Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

One of the best things to do in San Francisco is to go to brunch on a beautiful day in the city. Last Saturday, I had brunch with a friend at Plow in Potrero Hill of San Francisco. I ordered their plate called “The Plow” which included two eggs, bacon, potatoes, and lemon ricotta pancakes. When I tried the lemon ricotta pancakes, I knew I had to learn how to make them. The hint of lemon with the tart ricotta danced on my taste buds as I devoured my meal.

Today, I decided that I was going to try to recreate the pancakes using a recipe by Bobby Flay. Some modifications for this recipe include: almond milk instead of regular milk, cinnamon instead of nutmeg, 1 cup of flour instead of 3/4 cup and I decide to not use the lemon curd as topping.

Even though these were just pancakes, they were a bit difficult to gauge if they were done. I added the extra 1/4 cup of flour because the batter was runny and it took a long time to cook the inside of the pancake.

I am not a big fan of having a lot of syrup on my pancakes so the powdered sugar was a perfect hint of sweetness. I would make these pancakes again when I have company around since I only ate 2 and have a lot left over!

Find Bobby Flay’s recipe at Foodnetwork.com

Lemon zest

lemon zest and ricotta

sprinkled with powdered sugar

lemon ricotta pancakes

2 thoughts on “Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

  1. You can freeze your pancakes. Just be sure to get all the air out of your freezer bag. To heat simply bake in the oven. Be sure to put a piece of wax paper between each pancake before freezing

Leave a Reply

