Pancit Guisado

If you have seen my “About” page on this blog, I talk about how cooking is in my blood. Both my parents are great cooks of filipino food and I aspire to learn to cook just like them. This week, I asked my mom to show me how to cook pancit, a filipino noodle dish. It is a great recipe to have under my belt since it is always at special occasions. Pancit is usually at birthday parties because the noodles represent long life and good health. There are a lot of types of pancit such as palabok, canton, lomi, and the list goes on. My mom taught me how to cook pancit guisado which is what we commonly have in our house.

The only problem with learning how to cook filipino food is that my mom doesn’t have a recipe book but memorizes all the dishes. Since my memory is not that great, I have to take notes or call her any time I need to remember how to make a dish. Even though this can be intimidating when cooking, it forces you to practice and rely on your tastebuds.

The recipes can vary from different dialects. My mom explained that the way she makes it how Kapampangans do. The ingredients used are: bison noodles, chicken stock, soy sauce, achuete powder, boiled chicken, shrimp, carrots, cabbage, celery, onion, garlic, salt and pepper.

Thank you Mama for teaching me how to cook this! I am now confident to make this traditional filipino dish. My mouth was watering as I edited the pictures below. Enjoy!

Boiled shredded chicken

Celery

Carrots

wet and dry ingredients

Mixture

Mixing in noodles

2 thoughts on “Pancit Guisado

Leave a Reply

